Books

The little girl who lost her name

OK, Let me get this straight. Yes, this is a book review but on a children’s book. I had to write something about it because the book is that wonderful. I came across this book first in FaceBook. They were advertising books with a new concept of personalizing your child’s name with stories. Now that got me hooked. I went onto their site, www.lostmy.name,  to check what they actually had to offer. I gave in my daughter’s name and voila, they came up with a story based on the letters of her name. And what a story that was !!

As the title suggests, the story is about a girl who lost her name (in this case my daughter). She goes on an adventure to find her name and comes across various characters who help her in finding the letters of her name. She collects the letters and puts it together to get her name back.

Now when I say it like this, you will think what’s so great about it. Trust me when I tell you, it is everything and more. The book had my daughter (and also myself) enthralled from the start to the end trying to figure out how she is going to get her name back. Each character (mostly animals) is mentioned with their attributes, making it easier for the kids to learn as well. Simple enough language that kids can easily read. The book has a hardcover wrapping and lamination, hence making it safe enough when in the presence of grubby hands (you know how kids are 🙂 ). And hey, you can even personalize how the kid looks in the book. Dark/light hair, Girl/boy, etc. all these can be changed and customized as to your liking.

The more the letters in your child’s name, the bigger the story. 😀 My daughter has 7 letters in her name and she was quite happy with her story. She has read it enough times now that she can tell it to me by heart. And with all the sound effects, mind you !!

So why don’t you head over to the site and check for yourself? Even if you don’t buy the book, you can see how the story is made.

That’s all there is for now.

Until the next post,

Yours ever-reading Nami 🙂

Leave a Reply

